ENTREVISTA EXCLUSIVA MATHEW JONSON! Medellinstyle y The Weed Brothers !!!

mathew-jonson-medellin.png

– Whats your musical principal inspiration, explain us how do you get into your essence, how do you like to search for inspiration?

Sometimes its life experience, sometimes its deeper and comes from a connection with nature. Intuition and emotion plays a role as well. Writing electronic music can be strange because sometimes it feels very scientific but at the same time you are trying to let go of anylitical thought.

-There is something special in your music, your deep, delicate and organic essence that get the senses and generate a different feeling right, is your music focused more to the dancefloor or for the mind?

Its both I guess. Dancing can be lots of things. It can be a way of meditation to allow your brain time to process information. It can stimulate new ways of thought. It can be as simple as just having fun with your friends. I actually try not to think too much about music even though I’m trying to describe it in interviews all the time.

-Tell us something about marionette, the song completely defined you as Mathew Jonson, why the name, and what is the
story behind it?

Sometimes when I meditate the image of a marionette doll pops up in front of me like a gate keeper between different dimensions. If your breathing peace then it just goes away. Fear is the mind stopper.

-With what type of equipment did u start to play? and how u get into the electronic music? have u felt more as a producer from the beginning?

I started with music as a classical drummer and pianist. Then I discovered electronic music and started composing as I learned about synthesis. Music has always felt quite natural to me.

-What other music genres do u like?

I like all music.

-We read u use all of the 24 mixer channels!! how do u separate and blend the armonies and melodies?

10 channels of separated drums, 8 stereo channels of bass, keys and harmony from the computer, 2 channels for the sh-101 and 4 channels of effects .

-What does your studio look like?

Lots of old analog gear from the 70’s and 80’s, some new stuff and a bunch of effects all around a mix desk.


-What improvisation means to you at the moment of the live act, what is the feeling you search to have the right base to improvise and what effect do you spect of the crowd?

I just go with what feels right at the time. I try not to think about the past or the future or anything really. Thinking when your playing ruins the feel of the groove.

-Whats your favorite bpm?

I don’t really have one. But I play my live shows between 96bpm and 138 for the most part.

-How and why Wagon Repair born, why the Wagon is broken???

Me and my partner started it to give a good outlet for multiple genera’s of music and to have a label that was focused around being better for the artist rather than for the label.

-Define your style in 3 words.

I like music

-How you think the dj -format- will evolutionate?

All the dj’s will realize that mp3’s sound like shit and will start playing 24 bit wav and aiff files in addition to vinyl.

-Vynil or mp3?

Vinyl and wav and aiff. mp3s are for lazy dj’s.

-In the way Richie or RIcardo find and support you, who will you support, or who are u supporting right now?

I haven’t been djing much in the last years so I guess I support my artists on Wagon Repair.

-Do you like your brother(hrdvsion) music how u calificate him?

I love it. He makes so many different styles its hard to classify him.

-What happenned 1 year a go, you were booked to one of the festivals in Cartagena in our country, you were one of the most spected artists, but… ?

I was really sick so had to cancel. Doctor said I couldn’t fly. It was really lame because I was looking forwards too it. It was Actually the only show I ever canceled.

-What are you waiting of the Medellin, electronic escene, what have you heard about us?

I don’t know much other that my friends tell me the parties in Colombia are really fun!

-Apart from Konrad Black, Cobblestone Jazz, The Missing Link, HRDVSION, The Mole, Loose Change, Modern Deep Left Quartet, Mike Shannon, Lazy Fat People, luca bachetti, do you have any other suprise behind the future releases of Wagon Repair?

Deadbeat, Minilouge, Danuel Tate, Seth Troxler are a few.

-Your last record Stop/Real Dreams wasnt well recieved by the WR fans, maybe because you simply go way from the line and started a experimentation and ambientation process. Is Mathew Jonson in new way of eclectic music?

No I’ve always written all kinds of music. Not everyone has the same taste. For lots of people I know thats the favorite track I’ve made.

-Do u feel as a part of the Minus Family?

Yes of course. Rich has always treated me like part of his crew. Hope I have some music to give him one of these days…

-And to end add a word in the front of each concept: Sorry i dont have time I have to pack. see you soon!

2 Responses to “ENTREVISTA EXCLUSIVA MATHEW JONSON! Medellinstyle y The Weed Brothers !!!”


  1. 1 DJ I&I RIDDIM SOUND febrero 8, 2008 a las 3:21 pm

    Irie!!!
    Un saludo muy fraternal de Dj I&I R.S. aca en Medellin representando la escena Reggae, Dancehall y Dub. dandome un pasada por su proyecto y felicitarlos por el buen manejo y enfoque que le estan dando a este.

    Jah Live!!!
    Att:
    Dj I&I

  2. 2 el chàle WB febrero 8, 2008 a las 7:21 pm

    hey parcero!! las mejores.. nos pillamos este domingo pa hablar la vuelta del aniversario.. con humeantes sonidos dub!..


Responder

Blog Stats

  • 615,066 Hits

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id;
js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/es_LA/all.js#xfbml=1";
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));

Suscríbete


Add to netvibes

Únete a otros 50 seguidores


